Feature Final Fantasy Games

All Final Fantasy 14 Expansions In Order

All Final Fantasy 14 Expansions In Order

    Last Updated on July 1, 2023

Final Fantasy 14, developed and published by Square Enix, has emerged as one of the most popular and critically acclaimed MMORPGs in recent years. Since its tumultuous launch as Final Fantasy 14 Online in 2010, the game has witnessed a series of expansions that have enriched the world of Eorzea. These expansions expanded the game’s stories, introduced new classes and races, and captivated millions of players worldwide. In this article, we will embark on a detailed exploration of each expansion in chronological order. Join us as we trace the evolution of Final Fantasy 14 and the incredible tales it has to offer.

A Realm Reborn (2013)

Final Fantasy 14 A Realm Reborn (2013)

The tumultuous journey of Final Fantasy 14 began with A Realm Reborn, which saw a complete overhaul of the original game released in 2010. The expansion introduced players to the realm of Eorzea, a land facing the threat of the Garlean Empire and the primal forces that plague the land. Players were immersed in a rich narrative, engaging in epic quests, and forging alliances with memorable characters. This expansion laid the foundation for the ongoing saga and set the stage for the adventures to come.

Heavensward (2015)

Final Fantasy 14 Heavensward (2015)

Heavensward build upon the foundations of the previous Final Fantasy 14 expansion, transporting players to the city-state of Ishgard. This expansion introduced the first new playable race, the elegant and enigmatic Au Ra. With an increased level cap, players embarked on a journey to liberate Ishgard from the Dragonsong War. Heavensward not only provided a captivating story but also introduced new job classes. This includes the Dark Knight, Astrologian, and Machinist, each with unique abilities and playstyles.

Stormblood (2017)

Final Fantasy 14 Stormblood (2017)

In Stormblood, players set foot on the continent of Othard, a vast and diverse land under the oppressive rule of the Garlean Empire. This expansion introduced the red mage and samurai job classes, further diversifying the available playstyles. Stormblood raised the level cap once again. Additionally, it expanded the main story arc, delving into political intrigue, rebellion, and the pursuit of freedom. With stunning new zones, thrilling dungeons, and epic boss battles, Stormblood offered a truly immersive experience.

Shadowbringers (2019)

Final Fantasy 14 Shadowbringers (2019)

Shadowbringers is widely regarded as one of the most remarkable expansions in the history of Final Fantasy 14. It introduced the breathtaking land of Norvrandt, a mirror world known as the First. This expansion saw players become the Warrior of Darkness, embarking on a poignant and emotionally charged journey to save the world from impending doom. Shadowbringers delivered an unparalleled storyline, introducing memorable characters like the enigmatic Crystal Exarch and the charismatic Thancred Waters. It also introduced the Viera and Hrothgar as playable races, expanding the character customization options.

Endwalker (Fall 2021)

Final Fantasy 14 Endwalker (Fall 2021)

As the most recent and highly anticipated expansion, Endwalker promises to conclude the current narrative arc of Final Fantasy 14. This expansion will take players to the moon, where they will face new challenges, unravel mysteries, and battle powerful foes. Endwalker will raise the level cap to 90 and introduce new job classes, such as the Sage and Reaper. Endwalker has an intense focus on concluding the story arcs introduced in previous expansions. Thus, players can expect epic battles, emotional moments, and a satisfying resolution to the current narrative.

Frequently Asked Questions or FAQs

  1. What is the total cost of all the expansions for Final Fantasy 14?

The cost of the expansions in FFXIV varies. However, it’s important to note that Square Enix provides an extended free trial that allows new players to play ‘A Realm Reborn’ and the ‘Heavensward’ expansion up to level 60 at no cost.

  1. How frequently are expansions released for Final Fantasy 14?

Since the launch of ‘A Realm Reborn’ in 2013, Square Enix has been releasing a new expansion approximately every two years. If they continue with this pattern, players can anticipate the next expansion to be sometime around 2023.

  1. Are the expansions in Final Fantasy 14 free?

It is true that the base game and the ‘Heavensward’ expansion can be accessed for free up to level 60. However, it is also worth noting that subsequent expansions are not free. Nevertheless, considering the extensive content, immersive storyline, and the vibrant community of Warriors of Light, many players find that the expansions offer excellent value for the price.


The expansions of Final Fantasy 14 have taken players on a remarkable journey, expanding the world of Eorzea and weaving captivating tales that have captured the hearts of fans worldwide. From the tumultuous beginnings of A Realm Reborn to the emotionally charged realms of Shadowbringers, each expansion has added depth, content, and excitement to the game. Similarly, with the successful release of Endwalker, players can eagerly anticipate the culmination of this epic saga. Indeed, Final Fantasy 14 stands as a testament to the enduring popularity and innovation of the MMORPG genre, offering a world of adventure for players to explore and cherish for years to come.

Written By
Eidervan Frago

A gamer his whole life. Can go the whole day talking about everything gaming-related. He now mixes his love for writing and passion for gaming to create informational and helpful articles for all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *